Solar-Terrestrial Centre of Excellence

Annual STCE meeting 2013

June 7, 2013 - Meridian@ROB

On June 7, we serve our annual meeting the 2013 edition including STCE highlights and the results of 6 (!) workshops.

The avant-premiere workshops

We list the workshops. If you are interested, you are certainly welcome. Two workshops took already place: Click on the workshop titles for more information.


Friday June 7
Appetiser session
10:00Welcome by the STCE general coordinator Ronald Van der Linden
10:15The first European Space Weather CentreMichel Kruglanski
Workshop reports
10:45Inter-calibration and degradation of EUV instrumentsSteven De Witte
11:05Automatic detection of events in radio dataDavid Berghmans
11:25Coffee Break
11:40Water Vapour, Meteorology and ClimateRoeland Van Malderen
12:00Alfven Waves and Turbulence in Solar-Terrestrial PlasmasJesse Andries
12:20EPN Local Analysis CentresCarine Bruyninx
12:30Ionosphere: monitoring, research, serviceStan Stankov
Informal Part
12:50Lunch - food & drinks
Science and Fun: the Planeterrella demo
continuously from 13:00 - 14:00, next to the green room, BIRA-IASB Eddy Equeter, Johan De Keyser
Come and see the planeterrella, an aurora simulator at work. It's a fabulous scientific and educational experiment. There is still a wealth of scientific issues to be explored: polarisation of the auroral light, degradation of detectors caused by UV-radiation, measuring the UV-exposure and comparison with the natural UV-radiation,...
Pass by and stay as along as you want. Maybe you even want to become part of the planeterella project?


The meeting takes place in the Meridian at the Royal Observatory of Belgium, Ringlaan -3- Avenue Circulaire, B1180 Brussel.
The meeting is followed by a lunch which offers you the opportunity to meet your colleagues and continue the discussion. If you plan to come for the lunch, send an email to Anne.Vandersyppe at before Tuesday evening, June 4 with the subject 'STCE annual meeting June 7, lunch'

We hope to welcome you!
Ronald Van der Linden, Sophie Raynal, Jan Janssens and Petra Vanlommel